Pumpkin Rice Krispies Treats

Ah, Halloween. Thanks to Julia’s love of all things spooky, our family is always able to get into the celebration—with decorating and baking. This seasonal and vegetarian variation of classic Rice Krispies Treats is equally delicious as it is adorable.

STEP ONE – Preparations

1. Get out a large pot and a long mixing spoon.

STEP TWO – Make the Mixture

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons of unsalted butter
1 10-ounce pack of Dandies Vegan Marshmallows
4 cups of rice crispy cereal (any brand works)
Red and yellow food coloring

Instructions:

  1. In the large pot, melt the butter on medium heat.
  2. Add in the marshmallows and stir until melted (this will take 2-3 times longer than regular marshmallows and it’s worth it).
  3. Add about three to four drops of each food coloring to create a nice orange color.
  4. Remove the marshmallows from the heat and stir in the cereal.

STEP THREE – Shape and Decorate

Ingredients:

Green M&Ms
Pretzel sticks

Instructions:

  1. Divide the mixture into 8 equal-sized pieces.
  2. Shape each piece into a circular, pumpkin shape.
  3. Make an indentation at the top with a knife and insert the pretzel stick and M&M to make the stem and the leaf.
  4. Enjoy and have a safe and Happy Halloween!

Recommended serving size: 1 Rice Krispies Treat

Exchanges: 1 starch, 1 fat

Posted by

Nourish is all about wholesome food preparation for those with disordered eating. Our mission is to provide delicious recipes anyone can make at home, along with education and support for individuals recovering from eating disorders and their caregivers.

34 thoughts on “Pumpkin Rice Krispies Treats

  1. Color me ig-nor-ant. Vegan marshmallows? Imma no unnastan. What is in the regular version of these fluffy delights, that makes them evil? These punkin doobers look so-o-o good, and the weekend is coming-up (I can play in the kitchen as supervision will be available) and who, what monster, does NOT like Rice Krispie Treats? Vegan Marshmallows? I gotta special order?

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Regular marshmallows have gelatin in them, which comes from an animal, so people who are vegetarians (like us) or vegans can’t eat them. Vegan marshmallows are made without gelatin. They take a bit more effort to melt but taste a lot better in our opinion so it’s completely worth it. We do hope you try the recipe and enjoy!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I aim to try, gaining permission into the kitchen. Be out and about tomorrow. If I find non-gelatin fluffers, I’ll get’m. If not (avert your eyes) I may, um, ah, improvise, that’s it, improvise.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s